NRL 1999

Round 1


Click on the View button to view corresponding match page. Please note that you can click on teams, players, referees and venues in the list below, but the link colour has been removed in order to improve readability.

View  Canberra 28 (B. Costin 2, J. Croker, R. Jensen, S. Woolford tries; D. Furner 4 goals) defeated Brisbane 20 (M. De Vere 2, A. Langer, D. Lockyer tries; D. Lockyer 2 goals) at Bruce Stadium.
Date: Fri, 5th March.   Halftime: Brisbane 14-12.   Scrums: Brisbane 9-2.   Penalties: Canberra 8-4.   Referee: Tim Mander.   Crowd: 20,122.
View  Melbourne 32 (R. Bawden, M. Geyer, A. Moule, R. Ross, R. Swain tries; M. Geyer 6 goals) defeated Penrith 10 (R. Beckett, R. Girdler tries; R. Girdler goal) at Olympic Park Stadium.
Date: Fri, 5th March.   Halftime: Melbourne 8-4.   Scrums: Melbourne 8-6.   Penalties: Penrith 6-5.   Referee: Brian Grant.   Crowd: 12,056.
View  Newcastle 41 (J. Moodie 2, S. Conley, G. Grief, P. Harragon, A. Johns, B. Peden tries; A. Johns 6 goals; A. Johns field goal) defeated Manly 18 (T. Hill, A. King, A. Peters, A. Torrens tries; G. Mackay goal) at Stadium Australia.
Date: Sat, 6th March.   Halftime: Newcastle 6-4.   Scrums: Newcastle 11-10.   Penalties: Newcastle 8-5.   Referee: Steve Clark.   Crowd: 104,583.
View  Parramatta 20 (J. Smith 2, J. McCracken, D. Moran tries; C. Schifcofske 2 goals) defeated St George Illawarra 10 (L. Thompson, D. Treacy tries; C. Fitzgibbon goal) at Stadium Australia.
Date: Sat, 6th March.   Halftime: Parramatta 16-6.   Scrums: St George Illawarra 9-8.   Penalties: St George Illawarra 4-2.   Referee: Bill Harrigan.   Crowd: 104,583.
View  Cronulla 44 (S. Ryan 2, A. Ettingshausen, J. Ferris, B. Howland, C. McKenna, D. Peachey, M. Rogers tries; M. Rogers 6 goals) defeated Balmain 0 at Shark Park.
Date: Sun, 7th March.   Halftime: Cronulla 20-0.   Scrums: Cronulla 8-6.   Penalties: Balmain 6-4.   Referee: Moghseen Jadwat.   Crowd: 8,186.
View  North Sydney 30 (J. Wilson 2, B. Moore, A. Muir, S. Trindall tries; J. Taylor 4, B. Ikin goals) defeated Western Suburbs 12 (A. Bristow, J. Brooker tries; B. Hodgson 2 goals) at Parramatta Stadium.
Date: Sun, 7th March.   Halftime: North Sydney 18-2.   Scrums: North Sydney 14-9.   Penalties: Western Suburbs 7-6.   Referee: Paul Simpkins.   Crowd: 4,705.
View  South Sydney 16 (S. Garlick, B. Rodwell, C. Wing tries; D. Trindall 2 goals) defeated Canterbury 14 (B. Clyde, R. Silva tries; D. Halligan 3 goals) at Sydney Football Stadium.
Date: Sun, 7th March.   Halftime: Canterbury 12-6.   Scrums: Canterbury 9-7.   Penalties: Canterbury 9-8.   Referee: Sean Hampstead.   Crowd: 9,673.
View  Auckland 26 (M. Ridge 2, J. Galuvao, S. Jones tries; M. Ridge 5 goals) defeated Sydney City 16 (B. Fletcher 2, J. Bailey, M. Sing tries) at Sydney Football Stadium.
Date: Mon, 8th March.   Halftime: Auckland 12-4.   Scrums: Auckland 5-4.   Penalties: Auckland 11-4.   Referee: Matt Hewitt.   Crowd: 10,124.