State of Origin

The State of Origin contest is an annual three game series between Queensland and New South Wales. It commenced in 1980 as a one game experiment to breathe life into the previous interstate series, which was suffering from New South Wales' domination.

  • This section of Rugby League Project does not include the 1997 Superleague Tri-Series
  • The one-off matches played in 1980 and 1981, won by Queensland, are not considered series wins
  • The exhibition played in the USA in 1987 is recognised as a one-off State of Origin fixture, and not part of the 1987 series.
  • Series and matches played under the old interstate rules are not included in this section

Head To Head

New South Wales   Queensland
58 Matches Won 69
16 Series Wins 26
2106 Points 2132
356 Tries 369
340 Goals 329
13 Field Goals 11
310 Players Used 229