Round 1

Balmain Tigers 26 def. Manly Warringah Sea Eagles 24

Match URL
Saturday, April 2nd, 1955
Kick Off
3:15 PM (local time)
Col Pearce
Leichhardt Oval (Sydney)
  Balmain Tigers Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
  26 24

Match Stats

Halftime Score 16 20

Match Scoresheet

Tries   Ron Battye   Kevin Diett
    Geoff Hawkey   Rees Duncan
    Kevin Humphreys   George Hunter
    Clarrie Jeffreys   Johnny Tenison
Goals   Keith Barnes (7)   Angus Kellock (6)


Fullback 1. Keith Barnes 1. Angus Kellock
Wing 2. George Fifield 2. Johnny Tenison
Centre 3. Barry Willis 3. Bill Lloyd
Centre 4. Geoff Hawkey 4. John Hobbs
Wing 5. Ted Bonser 5. Eddie Lumsden
Five-Eighth 6. Ron Daley 6. Rees Duncan
Halfback 7. Brian Staunton 7. Kevin Diett
Lock 8. Ron Battye 8. George Hunter
Second Row 9. Neville Watt 9. Roy Dykes
Second Row 10. Bill Marsh 10. Doug Daley
Front Row 11. Kevin Humphreys 11. Roy Bull
Hooker 12. Clarrie Jeffreys 12. George Lenon
Front Row 13. Terry Brogan 13. Glenn Thorpe
Coach   Norm Robinson   Pat Devery

Note: Forward packs are listed in reverse order.

Match Notes

Doug Daley replaced Martin Jackson for Manly, who withdrew on Friday. Balmain's captain Jack Fifield withdraw owing to a leg injury, sustained in a trial, and was replaced by Barry Willis.

This match is a part of the following:

Contributions: Rugby League Tables